Volker Heine Young Investigator Award

Application deadline extended!

The Volker Heine Young Investigator Award was announced with a deadline of April 15, and we have been glad to find many excellent applications. In view of the growth and breadth of our quickly changing community, it appears, however, that the applications received so far do not yet reflect the diversity in all respects that would be truly representative. We realize that in this period, it is more difficult than usual to be mobilized and write applications, or encourage junior colleagues to do so.

Therefore, an extension of the deadline till May 27 has been decided. Note that for fairness, the CV of new applicants should reflect the status as of April 15. Please, use this chance to make your work known to the community by applying if you are eligible, or otherwise, please support and encourage eligible collaborators and colleagues to apply. Thank you!

The Psi-k Trustees


While the Psi-k conference is postponed to 2022, the Volker Heine Young Investigator Award ceremony will be held as a separate event streamed live on September 9, 2021, 2pm CEST.

The Volker Heine Young Investigator Award recognizes individuals for their outstanding computational work in the areas covered by the Psi-k mission statement ("...to develop fundamental theory, algorithms, and computer codes in order to understand, predict, and design materials properties and functions"). There will be one award of 2'500€ and four runner-up prizes of 500€ each.

Young researchers are invited to put themselves forward for the Volker Heine Young Investigator Award.


Applicants may be of any nationality working anywhere in the world. Applicants must be either currently enrolled in a PhD program, or be recent PhD graduates who have received their PhD certificate no earlier than September 11, 2015.


Young investigators who wish to compete for the Volker Heine Young Investigator Award 2021 must submit the following documents, merged as a single PDF file (max size 10 Mo), by email to the conference secretariat by May 27, 2021 (23:59 CEST):

  1. an extended CV (including list of publications and talks/posters) - reflecting the status as of April 15

  2. a two-page description making the case for their outstanding scientific contributions, including up to a maximum 5 hyperlinks to the relevant publications or websites

  3. an abstract of the talk that would be given if selected (including title, name and affiliation, and a text of maximum 150 words)

  4. evidence proving the eligibility conditions above

In addition, the candidate must arrange for two confidential support letters to be sent directly (not via the candidate). These letters (sent by email to the conference secretariat) must be received by June 10, 2021. One of the letters must certify that the candidate meets the eligibility condition above.


The award committee will select five finalists who will get an invitation to present their work at a live online streaming session (25 min. talk + 5 min. discussion) held on September 9, 2021, 2pm CEST. After these presentations, the award committee will select the award winner.

The winner will receive the award of 2'500€ and the four runner-up their prizes of 500€ each, together with a certificate, during the conference closing ceremony.

The recipient of the Volker Heine Young Investigator Award will be invited to submit a scientific article to npj Computational Materials*, or IOP Electronic Structure, which will also appear as a Psi-k Highlight.

* If accepted, npj Computational Materials will waive the publication charges.

Award committee

The award committee will consist of the seven plenary speakers and a selected number of Psi-k trustees.

Previous awards

2010 Claudio Attaccalite, Christoph Freysoldt, Matteo Gatti, Samir Lounis, Alexandre Tkatchenko

2013 Xavier Andrade, Michele Ceriotti, Nicholas D.M. Hine, Cheol-Hwan Park, Tim Wehling

2015 Marco Bernardi, Andreas Grüneis, Fabio Caruso, Ion Errea, Johanna Fuks

2018 Jan Gerit Brandenburg, Viktor Ivády, Yaroslav Kvashnin, Reinhard J. Maurer, Bartomeu Monserrat